WordPress – Delete or Disable Content

How to keep your current site, delete or disable outdated content

  1. Delete old posts (If you choose to disable posts rather than delete, since they take up space in your site, make sure they are absolutely necessary!)
  • Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 2.24.35 PM
  • Click on the top box of all the posts to select all the posts on this page
  • Click on Posts > All Posts
  • Go to the Dashboard of your blog
  • To delete all, choose Bulk Actions > Move to Trash, then click Apply
  • To keep them as archive for future reference, choose Bulk Actions > Edit, then click Apply
  • Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 2.29.13 PM
  • In the editing box, change the Status so that all posts will become Drafts.  Then click on Update to confirm
  • Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 2.31.10 PM
  • Repeat the steps for all the pages of posts that you want to delete or archive

2. Clean out any media gallery pictures or PDF that are outdated in your media library.  As server space is limited and for best practise, we recommend you to use Google Photos for photo upload, and Vimeo or Youtube for video upload.  Cloud computing!

  • Go to the Dashboard of your blog
  • Click on Media
  • Click on Bulk Select and then select the media that you want to delete
  • Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 3.18.09 PM
  • To delete them, click Delete Selected
  • Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 3.18.24 PM