Backup and Restore your WordPress Blog and Portfolio

Here is the link to the tutorial that will teach you how to export the WordPress blog (or the student iFolio) and import it in a new personal WordPress site. In the process, you will be asked to put in the staff or students’ credentials to access the site.

Student blog site address is : http://sites.cdnis.edu.hk/students/

Login Username is : student number

Login Password is : student’s network password (if forgot, please obtain from OneDoor)

If a leaving student has a WordPress account, it can be exported and imported onto a new personal WordPress account. Please be reminded that the free WordPress personal blog doesn’t restore your media files (ie. photos, videos, audio files). If needed, after importing onto a new site, the media files could be downloaded to a personal space for storage. Or choose to apply for a paid (with media) WordPress account at https://wordpress.com/.

Students should export their WordPress files before the last day of attending CDNIS.  After that the account will be disabled.

See this video tutorial (https://vimeo.com/116316322) for instructions.

Transfer Ownership of Google Data

You’re the owner by default for files that you create in Docs, Sheets, and Slides, or upload into Drive. But, you can transfer ownership of your Google files (Docs, Sheets, and Slides) and folders to anyone you’d like, as long as that person has an email address.

If you’re a Google Apps user, you can’t transfer ownership to someone else who is outside of your domain.

How to change owners

You can change who owns a file or folder in Drive.

  1. Go to Drive or a Docs, Sheets, or Slides home screen.
  2. Open the sharing box:
    • In Drive: Select the file or folder and click the share icon at the top .
    • In a Docs, Sheets, or Slides home screen: Open the file and click Share in the top-right corner of the file
  3. If the new owner already has edit access, skip to Step 4. Otherwise, follow these steps:
    1. Type the email address of the new owner in the “Invite people” field
    2. Click Share & save.
  4. Click Advanced in the bottom-right corner of the sharing box.
  5. Click the drop-down menu next to the name of the person you want to own the file or folder.
  6. Select Is owner.
  7. Click Done.

You’ll have access to the file as an editor after you transfer ownership.

Google Apps Customers: You can’t make someone outside of your domain the owner of your Google Doc. Only Google Apps customers in Government and Education domains can transfer ownership of a synced or uploaded file (like a PDF or image file).

Consumer Drive users: You can’t transfer ownership of a synced or uploaded file (like a PDF or an image file).

Things to consider before you transfer ownership

  • The things you’ll no longer be able to do once you transfer file ownership include:
    • Remove others from the file
    • Share with as many people as you like
    • Change visibility options
    • Allow your collaborators to change access privileges for others
    • Permanently delete something from Google Drive. After it’s deleted, no one can access it, including those it was shared with.
  • When you transfer ownership of a folder from yourself to another person, the new owner of the folder becomes an editor of the files in that folder. The original owners of the files remain the owners, and if the original owner deletes a file, it’ll be removed from the folder.
  • If your current Google Account is being deleted, transfer ownership of your files, folders, and Google files to another active account. Once the original account is deleted, you won’t be able to recover any of your files or folders from it.

Review Connected Apps & Sites On Your Google Account

Revoke access from all apps and sites that you don’t recognise or use anymore:

  1. While logged into your Google Account, click on your profile image icon and choose “My Account
    Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 9.55.00 AM

  2. Scroll down to “Sign In & Security” and click on “Connected Apps & Sites
    Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 9.55.15 AM

  3. Click on “Manage Apps
    Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 10.42.17 AM

  4. Go though the list and remove the apps or sites that you don’t recognise or use anymore.
    Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 10.42.37 AM

Restore OSX To Factory Default Settings

Here are some easy instructions on how to restore your MacBook to factory default.

  1. Recovery Mode
    Restart your MacBook and hold down the COMMAND and R key together at once until the Recovery Mode Windows appears.
    recovery

  2. Language
    Please select your language
    1

  3. Disk Utility
    Click on “DISK UTILITY” and Select CONTINUE Button at the right bottom
    2

  4. Erase All The Data
    Select your Macintosh hard drive on the left sidebar and Click on ERASE to delete all the data from your macbook. The name of the hard drive might be different, if it had been changed.
    3

  5. Reinstall The MAC OS X Operating System
    Now your macbook is clean and there is nothing left. Before reinstalling the OS X operating system, you have to make sure that your mac is connected to internet because your macbook downloads the OS X operating system. Restart your macbook to reinstall MAC OS X operating system and Select “Reinstall OS X” and Click on Continue Button
    4

 

Backup and Download your Google Data

You can download the data associated with your Google Account so that you can use it in another service or keep a copy for your records.

You can request this info using the “Google Takeout” tool. Here’s how:

Start your download

  1. Visit the Download your data page.
  2. Select the Google products you’d like to include in your download and select Next.
  3. Choose the file type that you’d like your data in and how you want to get it (either by a download link or directly into your Google Drive).
  4. Select Create archive.

Once the archive is created, you’ll get an email to let you know it’s ready. Depending on the amount of information in your account, this process could take a few minutes or several hours, but most people get their link the same day they request it.